Brisbane Bears

About Brisbane Bears

The Brisbane Bears are the competitive teams of Brisbane Volleyball Club who compete in State level competitions throughout the year. Our Premier Grade teams compete at the highest levels in Queensland, where players have the opportunity to then be selected for the Queensland Pirates representative teams to compete in the Australian Volleyball League. In addition to our Premier level teams, we have multiple divisions of teams in both genders, with over 100 players competing under the banner of the 'Bears'.

The Bears are amateur level teams, but compete in demanding competitions which require commitment from players to training and competition requirements. We have built a proud history of excellence and success over recent years, and we have a culture which feeds on the passion and competitive drive of our players. We are continually looking to grow our base of players and provide more competitive training and playing opportunities.

The Bears cater for teams in the following age groups:

  • Seniors (all ages)
  • Masters (30+)
  • Under 19
  • Under 17
  • Under 15

This Season

For information about the competitions the Bears compete in, please scroll down to the Competition Overview below.

Trial Schedules

The trials schedules are below, please make sure you read the details very carefully and confirm the Date, Teams, Times and Venues. Players do not have to attend all trials, though they are encouraged to do so to give themselves the best chance at selection.

All NEW players wanting to trial for the BVC Bears will need to complete a Trial Registration using the BVC App.

Senior PVL

Senior Grand Prix

Junior PVL


The training schedule is still being confirmed, but all teams will train in one of the following sessions:

Tuesday Evenings at Clayfield, or

Thursday Evenings at The Gap

Competition Overview

Below is the schedule of Competitions that the BVC Bears enter with an overview for each.



The BVC Committee is always looking for coaches to join our program.

Interested coaches should send us an email to

Club History

Premiership Winning Teams

2016 - Overall Club Champions

2016 - Division 1 Men

2016 - Division 2 Women

2015 - Overall Club Champions

2015 - Premier Men - UNDEFEATED

2015 - Premier Women

2015 - Division 1 Men

2014 - Overall Club Champions

2014 - Premier Men

2014 - Junior Men

2013 - Reserve Grade Men

2012 - A Grade Men

2012 - Reserve Grade Men - UNDEFEATED

2009 - Overall Club Champions

2009 - A Grade Men

2009 - Reserve Grade Men

2008 - A Grade Women

2008 - A Grade Men

2008 - Reserve Grade Women